Federal Reserve Bank (FRB)

One of the 12 operating arms of the Federal Reserve System, located throughout the nation, that together with their branches carry out various System functions, including providing payment services to depository institutions, distributing the nation’s currency and coin, supervising and regulating member banks and bank holding companies, and serving as fiscal agent for the U.S. government.